Djokovic, Swiatek confirmed for United Cup

Novak Djokovic and Iga Swiatek will headline the 2024 edition of the United Cup, with the mixed tennis tournament returning to Australia. 

Djokovic — a 24-time grand slam singles champion — is set to begin his season at the event as Serbia make their debut.

A total of 18 nations will do battle with matches to take place in Sydney and Perth.

MORE: When is Australian Open 2024? Grand slam to change start date

On Friday morning (local time) the ‘top 16’ countries were announced for the United Cup, with the two remaining nations to be revealed in due course.

The field comprises the top five-ranked WTA countries, top five-ranked ATP countries and top six combined entry countries.

Reigning men’s Australian Open champion Djokovic is a notable inclusion, joined by former world No. 1 Swiatek who is part of the top-seeded Poland team.

No. 2 seeds Greece have confirmed the participation of Stefanos Tsitsipas and Maria Sakkari, while host nation Australia will be led by Alex de Minaur and Ajla Tomljanović. 

Notably, five of the world’s top 10 women and nine of the world’s top 20 men will play at the event.

“The top 16 teams include some of the biggest names in tennis … (and) they are all set to play in a format designed to showcase both the men’s and women’s game and the unique equality in tennis,” tournament director Stephen Farrow said, via WWOS.

“We can’t wait to see some exciting match-ups between such a high calibre playing field, and lots of entertaining tennis in what promises to be a blockbuster event.”

The full entry list can be viewed here.

The United Cup is a mixed tennis tournament, played in a team competition format. 

Eighteen countries will take part in the upcoming event, with Sydney and Perth to host nine teams each — three more than last year.

Countries will be placed into six groups of three before facing off in a round-robin format.

Each tie will comprise one men’s singles, one women’s singles and one mixed doubles match.

The three group winners in each city will progress to the quarterfinals, joined by the best runner-up.

Sydney will then host the semifinals and final.

As a combined ATP-WTA event, a minimum of AU$15 million of prize money will be on offer, as well as 1000 combined rankings points.

The official draw for the United Cup will be made on Monday, October 23.

The 2024 edition of the United Cup will be played in the Australian cities of Perth (RAC Arena) and Sydney (Ken Rosewall Arena).

It will run from December 29, 2023 through to January 7, 2024.

Novak Djokovic, Iga Swiatek confirmed for United Cup 2024 tennis tournament

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More